Currently, our system is set up so that participants are not able to edit their profile for 4 weeks from their last edit or account activation (does not include re-activation). The reason is to ensure participants are not changing their profile to match certain criteria of a project. You can view when your account will be unlocked by going to "Edit Profile" in the top right of your account portal > Selecting "Edit" and in the top right, it will say "Editable" with the date at which your account. Unfortunately, this is something we cannot change for you on the backend.
In the meantime, you will still be able to apply for general population studies by going to "Browse Projects" and selecting projects that do not have a "💼" on the right-hand side of them (general population).